MERA Board of Directors

January 2022

Kathleen Miller – MERA President

  • millerk@sresd.org 
  • Executive Director of Instructional Services/Secondary Options
  • Shiawassee RESD 
  • 1025 West Shiawassee Street, Corunna, MI 48817 
  • Telephone 989-743-3471, Ext. 2214 
  • Term: January, 2021 – December, 2023 

Joseph Musial, Ph.D. – MERA Vice-President 

  • musialj@resa.net
  • Assessment & Evaluation Consultant 
  • Wayne RESA
  • 33500 Van Born Road, Wayne, MI 48184 
  • Telephone 734-334-1528 
  • Term: January, 2023 – December, 2025 

John Thero – MERA Secretary 

  • jthero@solake.org 
  • Director of Instruction & Assessment 
  • South Lake Schools
  • 23101 Stadium Boulevard, St. Clair Shores, MI 48080 
  • Telephone 586-435-1640
  • Term: January, 2022 – December, 2024 

Neelam Kher, Ph.D. – MERA Treasurer

  • kher@msu.edu
  • Senior Research Associate Emeritus
  • College of Education
  • 620 Farm Lane
  • East Lansing, MI 48824
  • Telephone: 318-730-4394
  • Term: January, 2023 – December 2025

Sherry Betcher

  • sbetcher@thecenterforcharters.org  
  • Central Michigan University
  • The Governor John Engler Center for Charter Schools
  • 195 E.Ojibway Court, Suite 200
  • Mt. Pleasant, MI  48859
  • Term: January, 2022 – December 2024

Jonathan Flukes

  • jonathan.flukes@pccsk12.com
  • Director of Data, Assessment, Research, and Evaluation
  • Plymouth-Canton Community Schools
  • 454 S Harvey St.
  • Plymouth, MI 48170
  • Telephone: 734-416-2934
  • Term: January, 2021 – December, 2023

Jacqueline Gardner, Ph.D.

  • swans126@msu.edu
  • Director of Data and Evaluation
  • Office of K-12 Outreach
  • College of Education
  • Michigan State University
  • 620 Farm Lane, East Lansing, MI 48824
  • Telephone: 517-230-3049
  • Term: January, 2021 – December 2023

James Gullen, Ph.D.

Emily McEvoy

  • emcevoy@misd.net 
  • Data and Assessment Consultant
  • 44001 Garfield Road
  • Clinton Twp., MI 48038
  • Telephone: 586-228-3459
  • Term: January, 2022 – December 2024

Steve Petros

  • PetrosS@grps.org 
  • Assessment Specialist
  • Grand Rapids Public Schools
  • 1331 Franklin Street SE
  • Grand Rapids, MI 48506
  • Term: January, 2022 – December, 2024

Paul E. Robinson 

  • paul.robinson0023@gmail.com
  • Implementation Facilitator
  • Macomb Intermediate School District – Mt. Clemens Schools
  • 3186 Pinehill Place, Flushing, MI 48433 
  • Telephone 810-869-5174 
  • Term: January, 2022 – December, 2024

David Treder, Ph.D.  

  • DTreder@geneseeisd.org 
  • Coordinator for Research, Evaluation & Assessment 
  • Genesee Intermediate School District, 
  • 2413 West Maple Avenue, Flint, MI 48507 
  • Telephone 810-591-4971 
  • Term: January, 2023 – December, 2023