MERA Board of Directors

January 2021

Kathleen Miller – MERA President

  • millerk@sresd.org 
  • Executive Director of Instructional Services/Secondary Options
  • Shiawassee RESD 
  • 1025 West Shiawassee Street, Corunna, MI 48817 
  • Telephone 989-743-3471, Ext. 2214 
  • Term: January, 2021 – December, 2023 

Joseph Musial, Ph.D. – MERA Vice-President 

  • musialj@resa.net
  • Assessment & Evaluation Consultant 
  • Wayne RESA
  • 33500 Van Born Road, Wayne, MI 48184 
  • Telephone 734-334-1528 
  • Term: January, 2020 – December, 2022 

John Thero – MERA Secretary 

  • jthero@solake.org 
  • Director of Instruction & Assessment 
  • South Lake Schools
  • 23101 Stadium Boulevard, St. Clair Shores, MI 48080 
  • Telephone 586-435-1640
  • Term: January, 2018 – December, 2021 

James Gullen, Ph.D. – MERA Treasurer 

  • jgullen@michiganassessmentconsortium.org
  • PO Box 157
  • Thompsonville, MI  49783
  • Term: January, 2018 – December, 2021 

Harvey Czerwinski, Ph.D. 

  • hczerwinski@misd.net 
  • Testing and Assessment Consultant 
  • Macomb Intermediate School District 
  • 4401 Garfield Rd. Room 216K, Clinton Township, MI 48038 
  • Telephone 586-228-3475 
  • Term: January, 2018 – December, 2021 

Paul E. Robinson 

  • paul.robinson0023@gmail.com
  • Implementation Facilitator
  • Macomb Intermediate School District – Mt. Clemens Schools
  • 3186 Pinehill Place, Flushing, MI 48433 
  • Telephone 810-869-5174 
  • Term: January, 2018 – December, 2021

David Treder, Ph.D.  

  • DTreder@geneseeisd.org 
  • Coordinator for Research, Evaluation & Assessment 
  • Genesee Intermediate School District, 
  • 2413 West Maple Avenue, Flint, MI 48507 
  • Telephone 810-591-4971 
  • Term: January, 2020 – December, 2022 

Jonathan Flukes

  • jonathan.flukes@oakland.k12.mi.us
  • Research, Evaluation, and Assessment Consultant
  • Oakland Schools
  • 2111 Pontiac Lake Road
  • Waterford, MI 48328
  • Telephone: 248-209-2546
  • Term: January, 2021 – December, 2023

Neelam Kher, Ph.D.

  • kher@msu.edu
  • Senior Research Associate Emeritus
  • College of Education
  • 620 Farm Lane
  • East Lansing, MI 48824
  • Telephone: 318-730-4394
  • Term: January, 2020 – December 2022

Steve Petros

  • PetrosS@grps.org 
  • Assessment Specialist
  • Grand Rapids Public Schools
  • 1331 Franklin Street SE
  • Grand Rapids, MI 48506
  • Term: January, 2020 – December, 2021

Jacqueline Gardner, Ph.D.

  • swans126@msu.edu
  • Director of Data and Evaluation
  • Office of K-12 Outreach
  • College of Education
  • Michigan State University
  • 620 Farm Lane, East Lansing, MI 48824
  • Telephone: 517-230-3049
  • Term: January, 2021 – December 2023